Skip to Content
The Australian Ballet Giselle The Australian Ballet Giselle
    • Canberra Theatre Centre
      Performance Finder
    • Canberra Theatre Centre

Cultural Facilities Corporation

The Cultural Facilities Corporation is an ACT Government statutory authority established under the Cultural Facilities Corporation ACT (1997), to manage the following significant cultural venues in Canberra:


To be a cultural leader in the ACT community and region.


We will enrich the cultural life of people in the ACT and region, by managing our facilities and delivering programs in a creative, professional and business-like manner.

The CFC Governance Charter

Congratulations to the winners of the Don Aitkin Award

The Don Aitkin Award is named in honour of former long-term Chairman of the Cultural Facilities Corporation, Professor Don Aitkin AO. 
The award was established in 2012 and has since been made annually to individual members of staff, or volunteers, who have made an outstanding contribution to the organisation. 

Congratulations to all our winners, whose names and award citations are set out below.

2014 Don Aitkin Award
Trudy Collins

For her outstanding work in supporting staff throughout the Cultural Facilities Corporation by providing high level advice on HR, IR and related matters.

Elysia Fisher
For her outstanding work in providing support to, and ensuring cohesion amongst, the whole team at the Canberra Theatre Centre.

Dale Middleby
For her outstanding contribution to ACT Museums and Galleries for over 30 years, and for the support and mentoring she provides to members of the curatorial team.

Peter Welch
For his outstanding dedication and professionalism in the delivery of guiding and education programs at the ACT Historic Places.

2013 Don Aitkin Award
Kate Gardiner
For her outstanding work in developing, delivering and supporting ACT Museums and Galleries education and community programs.

Gill Hugonnet
For her outstanding  work in developing and delivering theatre programming, while also supporting theatre community outreach, access and education programs.

Maria Wallace

For her outstanding work in providing executive support, assisting the organisation in many different roles, and creating a positive and harmonious work environment.

D’Arcy Wentworth
For his outstanding contribution to Lanyon as a volunteer, especially through his work on conserving and cleaning collection items.

2012 Don Aitkin Award
Sophie Chessell

For her inspirational leadership of a high-performing team, in the delivery of ACT Museums and Galleries’ community and education programs

Sally Stratton
For her outstanding commitment over 20 years to improving the quality of the Lanyon experience, both as a volunteer and a member of staff

Tony Martin

For his selfless dedication to the Canberra Theatre Centre and, in particular, his efforts to develop an education program


Annual Report 06/07

Annual Report 07/08

Annual Report 08/09

Annual Report 09/10

Annual Report 10/11

Annual Report 11/12

Annual Report 12/13

Annual Report 13/14 

Cultural Facilities Corporation's response to the Loxton Report

ACT Public Service Cultural Facilities Corporation Enterprise Agreement 2013-2017

CFC Submission on Draft ACT Arts Policy Framework: Executive Summary